Car Insurance for Massachusetts Drivers
Welcome Massachusetts drivers! If you’re looking to get a car insurance quote
, or just need information about buying car insurance in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, you’ve come to the right place!
Whether you live in downtown Boston or enjoy hiking in the Berkshires, The Hartford knows it’s important for experienced drivers like you to feel protected as you travel along Massachusetts roadways. With a reputation for integrity, trust and high customer ratings for our claims services, you can count on car insurance from The Hartford to be there when you need it.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered to Massachusetts Drivers
Massachusetts drivers could receive valuable benefits starting with a car insurance quote from the AARP®
Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford.1
Our car insurance benefits and discounts
for Massachusetts drivers include:
12-month Rate Protection
New Car Replacement§§
24/7 Claim Service
Required Car Insurance Coverages in Massachusetts
Massachusetts law requires liability car insurance at the following minimum limits:2
$20,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident
$40,000 for bodily injury, total per accident
$5,000 for property damage, total per accident
Massachusetts Uninsured Driver Facts
According to a 2012 Insurance Research Council Report, 6.2% of drivers in Massachusetts do not have car insurance. Massachusetts is below the national average of 12.6%.3
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts requires drivers to have uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage
, and The Hartford offers this coverage that will protect you from financial loss if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist.
Staying Safe on Massachusetts Roads
As you travel through Massachusetts, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on Massachusetts’s highways and byways. Here are just a few:4
Massachusetts Seat Belt Laws
Even though Massachusetts doesn’t have mandatory seat belt laws, law enforcement can ticket you for not wearing your seat belt if you are pulled over for another traffic violation.
Massachusetts Distracted Driving Laws
Massachusetts has a number of laws in place to discourage distracted driving:
Hand-held cell phones are banned for all drivers in the State of Massachusetts.
Massachusetts new drivers are not allowed to use hand-held or hands-free cell phones.
Texting while driving is banned in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Massachusetts Teen Driver Laws
Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for all teenagers, and Massachusetts wants to be sure that they stay safe in the process! Massachusetts has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teenagers gain the experience and maturity that’s required to be safe behind the wheel. Graduated licensing laws limit nighttime driving, restrict the number of teen passengers and ensure an adequate amount of supervised driving practice.