Car Insurance for Georgia Drivers
Whether you’re visiting downtown Atlanta or spending time in the Blue Ridge Mountains, you’ll want to feel protected as you travel. Luckily, it’s easy to get the Georgia auto insurance you need from the AARP®
Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford.1
In fact, we’ve been protecting AARP members and their families in Georgia with car insurance
To learn more about insurance requirements in Georgia and see what your options are, request quotes from auto insurance companies. Comparing car insurance
prices can help you get cheap car insurance.
Our specialists are available at 888-413-8970
to answer any questions you may have and help you find the best auto insurance in Georgia. You can also get a car insurance quote
online from us today.
GA Auto Insurance Benefits and Discounts
Drivers in Georgia can receive valuable benefits for AARP members
from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford, including:
12-month Rate Protection: With this benefit, we’ll lock your premium in for a full year.
New Car Replacement:§§ This helps replace your totaled new car with one of the same make, model and equipment without subtracting depreciation. This only applies if you total your new car within the first 15 months or 15,000 miles after you buy it.
First Accident Forgiveness:‡ With this benefit, we won’t charge you for your first accident.
Disappearing Deductible:‡ This reduces your collision deductible on your auto policy each year all the way to $0 as long as you maintain a clean driving record.
24/7 Claim Service: Our representatives are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 800-243-5860 to help guide you through the claim process.
Additional Car Insurance Coverages and Benefits Available to Georgia Drivers
For added protection, Georgia drivers may also be eligible for the following coverages from the AARP® Auto Insurance
Program from The Hartford:
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Georgia
$25,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident
$50,000 for bodily injury, total per accident
$25,000 for property damage per accident
Optional Georgia Car Insurance Coverages
Following your state requirements for auto insurance coverage is a good start. However, that state minimum doesn’t always give you the full coverage you need. To fill in gaps, you may need additional policies, like:
To see how much coverage will cost you, speak to your insurance company. They’ll calculate your premiums based on factors like your driving records and credit scores. You can also ask our specialists any questions you have at 888-413-8970
Proof of Car Insurance in Georgia
If you’re a licensed driver in the state of Georgia, it’s smart to keep a copy of your car insurance ID card in your vehicle with your registration. If you’re in an accident, you’ll be required to give it to a police officer. To make it even easier, Georgia does allow electronic proof of auto insurance coverage. And with The Hartford mobile app
, you can store your car insurance ID cards right on your phone. For more information, visit the Google Play
™ or App Store
Some penalties you may face if you can’t provide proof of insurance include:
Paying a fine
Facing jail time
A suspended license for 60 days
Georgia Uninsured Driver Facts
Uninsured motorist coverage helps protect you if you’re in an accident with a driver that doesn’t have coverage. However, the state of Georgia doesn’t require drivers to carry this insurance.
Georgia Driving Laws
Georgia, like other states, has a number of safe driving laws that help protect you on their roads. These are just a few of those guidelines:3
Georgia Seat Belt Laws:
It’s a mandatory law to wear a seat belt while driving in Georgia.
Georgia Distracted Driving Laws:
Texting while operating a vehicle is banned for all drivers in the State of Georgia.
Georgia Teen Driver Laws:
Teenagers dream of getting their license. To make sure teen drivers are safe while they’re learning, Georgia has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that they gain the experience and maturity required to be safe behind the wheel. These laws limit nighttime driving and restrict passengers. They also require a certain amount of supervised driving practice.